Home > Crazy Kinux, Eve Online, General > Who is more real??

Who is more real??

Welcome to the twenty-fourth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week or so to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check for other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

This month’s Banter topic comes to us from the ever helpful Eelis Kiy, capsuleer behind the “Where the frack is my ship” blog. She asks: How does your real life personality compare to who you are as a character in EVE? Does a good leader of people in the real world make a good leader of pilots in-game? Or vice-versa? Do your real-life skills help you with the roles you fulfill in your corporation or alliance? Or do you behave completely differently? Does the anonymity of the Internet allow you to thrive on the tears of others in New Eden whilst you work as a good Samaritan away from your keyboard? Or are you as mean outside of your pod as you are inside it? Have experiences in EVE Online affected your behavior, skills or attitudes outside of the game?

I’ve missed a few Blog Banters over the previous month’s due to not really having much to say on the subjects but as it’s a New Year I thought I would try again.

This month’s banter is all about how you as the player relate to your Eve characters, either in personality, looks or playing style. So I will break this post down into those 3 areas.

Looks: Ok I don’t look anything like any of my 3 toons in Eve.. 🙂 well 1 is a girl (and in RL I’m a bloke..honest..), one has a shaved head and facial tattoo’s. I do have a tattoo but not on my face (my mum would kill me) but I still have hair and Durz0 is quite old-looking and has a big nose (I’m still youngish and despite years of martial arts my nose hasn’t suffered that many blows).

To be honest I’ve spent very little time creating a look for my toons, I’ve usually gone for a few tweaks here and there but once the new character creation is released I will be spending some time making them look a bit more “real” but I doubt they will ever share any of my looks.

Personality: In Eve I don’t think it’s something you can avoid, your personality will always “shine through” in games where you invest a lot of time and effort as you do in Eve. Don’t get me wrong I know there are people out there that play the evil nasty type but then I’ve lost count of how many blogs I’ve read where a pirate or ninja kills someone in combat and then because of some stab of guilt or their RL personality to be the “good guy” has given their victim some ISK towards replacing what they have lost.

Personally I tend to work to these simple principals both in RL and in Eve:

1. Try to help others than either ask for help or you believe may benefit from it
2. Always be willing to listen and learn and try to take lessons away from every encounter
3. No one is perfect, everyone makes mistakes. Once is fine, twice is stupidity, 3 times they deserve everything they get
4. Always be prepared to fight for what you believe in, what is right (in your opinion) and what you wish for in life (or in Eve)

My role as CEO for Abaddon Innovations I have a responsibility to my members, in RL I am team leader for 6 other people and share some of these same responsibilities. I ensure that in Eve the members of my Corp are happy, content, have everything they need to work/survive/prosper and actually look forward to logging in to the game. I have to say managing a Corp in Eve is easier than managing people in RL, Eve tends to have less drama’s about day-to-day life, the game is the same experience for everyone whereas RL has a tendency to shove more down your throat all at once and unlike RL you can always take a break from Eve..

Playing Style: I play Eve my way, much as I live my life the way I want to, yes there are constraints in both “worlds” in terms of financial independence and having the time to do what you want while managing other things that come your way. For me the way I play Eve is more the “real” me than any other part of the game. In both worlds I keep myself to myself with the exception of a few “close” friends (or in Eve corp mates), I don’t go looking for trouble but I’m more than willing to fight to survive if I need to. I treat people I meet the same way I expect to be treated and I’m not afraid to cut ties with those that cross me or betray me. I’ve tried to explore Eve as much as I can in my first year just as I look to explore the RL world I live in, always looking for new experiences, ways to learn new things and new people to meet.

List of participants:

1. EVE Blog Banter #24: Be, all that you can be, and so much more!
2. BB24:RL + EVE = | A Mule In EvE
3. Freebooted: BB 24: You Talking to Me?
4. where the frack is my ship?: Blog Banter 24: Behind the keyboard
5. (OOC) CK’s Blog Banter #24: I Am Prano. « Prano’s Journey
6. mikeazariah » Blog Archive » BB24 Who are you, who hoo woo hoo
7. Drifting: The 24th EVE Blog Banter (January 2011 Edition) – Topic: EVE and Real Life
8. Victoria Aut Mors » Blog Archive » Eve Blog Banter #24 – Where Eve Meets Real Life
9. Who is more real?? « The Durzo Chronicles
10. Captain Serenity: blog banter #24 – Personalities
11. Confessions of a Closet Carebear: EVE and Real Life (EVE Blog Banter #24)
12.The 24th EVE Blog Banter – EVE and Real Life – The Phoenix Diaries
13.EvE Blog Banter #24: EVE and Real Life EvE Blasphemy
14. Blog Banter 24: In Real Life « Yarrbear Tales
15. The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Alt « the hydrostatic capsule
16. Blog Banter #24 – Me « Roc’s Ramblings
17. Blog Banter: Personalities in game and out of game
18. Fiddler’s Edge: Game Face – Eve Blog Banter #24
19. Progression’s Horizon: Blog Banter 24- Synonymous or Anonymous?
20. More to come….

So that’s me.. I hope you’ve enjoyed the read.
Fly safe
Durz

Leave a Reply

