Home > Eve Online, General, Wormhole > Wormhole virgin no more!!

Wormhole virgin no more!!

Tonight I logged into Eve for my normal hour or 2 of Eve time. I logged on to find only my fellow corp mate Yuzuki logged in which is unusual as normally fellow Director Nozza1 is always on (and I do mean always). I started running a lvl 4 mission in Ibura while chatting to Yuzuki who as per normal was doing something relating to WH’s (he does love them), and after listening to him yelp in excitement about how much ISK he had made I decided to bite the bullet and take a trip into the WH with him.

Now I know what you are thinking, Operation “Take the plunge” was supposed to be my first trip into WH space and see what it’s like.. What can I say.. I changed my mind lol..

I cleared the mission and headed back to base to swap into my Drake battlecruiser and refit it for WH space. The only problem being is that I had no idea what to expect or how to fit it. Below is what some might class as a “Fail Fit” for a Drake.

[WH Drake]

[High Slots]
5 x Malkuth Heavy Assault Launchers (Terror Missiles)
1 x Prototype Cloaking Device
1 x Core Probe Launcher
1 x T1 Salvager

[Medium Slots]
1 x T2 Invulnability Shield
1 x 10MN MWD
4 x T2 shield resists (1 of each type)

[Low Slots]
1 x T2 Shield Recharger
1 x T2 Power Control Unit
2 x T2 BCU’s

[Rigs]
2 x T1 Shield Purger
1 x T1 Anti-EM reinforcer

[Drones]
5 x T2 Hornets

Looking back on the event I had no idea what damage types to expect, what damage type was best to use or anything about what would be the other side of the K162 exit (but then that’s the fun part of Eve isn’t it).

A quick Clone jump later (I have a JC 1 jump away from base) and I was en route to the WH. I have read up a bit on WH’s (I now realise I need to read a lot more) so I knew that I had to keep my d-scan handy and refreshed and I was hoping my time in low sec space would help with that.

The WH was quiet (which is nice for my first trip) and a quick d-scan while cloaked showed only a Drake BC and a few industrial ships (need to tweak my overview I think), Yuzuki informed me the Drake was there before and I made a mental note to keep my eye on it. We warped off to a site Yuzuki had scanned down and there I found my first sleepers..

Nasty little buggers really but the combination of pulsing my MWD and unleashing my drones and terror missiles in combination with Yuzuki’s Cane of Doom (that’s my name for it) we made short work of them in about 20 minutes. We scooped the loot and headed home.. I know not very exciting, no pew pew action or narrow escapes but I enjoyed it and I gave the large majority of the loot to Yuzuki and I just kept the salvage (none of those nice nanoribbon things).

My WH Drake needs a lot of work and my HAM skills are rubbish so that needs working on if I keep that fit but for me it was nice to do something different, WH’s feel like home to me and Yuzuki has a real passion for them which is rubbing off on me. I posted earlier about his new blog and how I inspired him to start it, in reality my drive to explore WH space is because of him and I’m looking forward to the next adventure in WH space..

Fly safe
Durz

Categories: Eve Online, General, Wormhole
  1. January 26, 2011 at 07:31

    Hehehe, was fun eh? And it ain’t as bad as everyone makes it out to be. Hopefully next time we find some friggin’ nanoribbons though!

  2. January 26, 2011 at 13:05

    Excellent!

    I understand that Sleepers don’t use damage types as such, but use weapons that hit at your weakest resistance. So don’t focus on getting a specific resistance high, just work on plugging the holes, so to speak. You need the best omni-tank you can fit.

  3. House2twist
    January 28, 2011 at 08:41

    I know of an excellent drake fit for wormhole sites. Contact me in game house2twist

    First thing though, you’ll want heavy middle launchers not HAMs. Also, drop the cloak and the salvager and load them up with launchers. I will send you a fitting in game.

  4. House2twist
    January 28, 2011 at 08:43

    Stupid iPhone. Heavy missle*** launchers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

