Home > Eve Online, General, Pirate Related, PVP > Gen: PVP, Incarna, RAGE etc etc

Gen: PVP, Incarna, RAGE etc etc

Evening readers,

First the “boring” stuff.

So Incarna was released yesterday and #tweetfleet has been full of mixed reviews, comments and general ranting. For me I logged in walked around for 30 seconds and then turned off the station environment. Walking in stations is nice but it’s not why I play the game. I play to fly spaceships and shoot stuff, the fact that you might be forced to have station environments on in the future is a slight worry, not because my computer can’t handle it more because for me it’s not a big part of the game. In fact one corp member from ABADD has cancelled his subs due to his computer not being able to handle it. It would be nice if CCP would make it an optional part of the Eve client for those that want it.

The new “store” where you can buy vanity items is another area that seems to have upset lots of people. CCP aren’t forcing you to buy anything from it so I am ignoring it and will continue to do so. If CCP (and there is a “leaked” document about this) decide to introduce more micro transactions, such as buying skills etc etc I again will ignore it. Yes some people will pay the ISK/££ to do so but for me I’m sure I can find people to shoot and things to build that will keep me removed from that whole area.

Since Incarna there has been lots of other bloggers sharing their thoughts and opinions so if you want to get a more “rounded” view I suggest you take the time to read them. I’m also surprised by the number of bloggers who have either declared they are quitting or that they will if CCP doesn’t do something to fix things. I guess everyone plays the game for their own reasons, does my lack of concern/worry/rage mean I don’t care about Eve?? Of course not if I didn’t care I wouldn’t pay my subs each month nor would I write this blog to share my experiences.

Now for the more fun stuff…

Miura Bull (CEO of the Black Rebels) has started doing a series of articles on the members of the Black Rebels, this is a Q&A piece where we, the humble pilots of the Rebels get to share a bit more about ourselves. You can read the first one here. I would also like to take the opportunity to thank Miura, since joining the corp and then him kindly linking me on his blog I’ve received a nice uplift in blog traffic.. 🙂

As I’ve mentioned before work has been very busy of late, lots of days and nights working, in fact as I write this I’m at work (it’s 4am) supporting some projects going in. This means with new expansions etc etc I’ve not been in-game much. I did manage to get an hour tonight and managed to grab a couple of kills. First off was a Moa cruiser which I followed around the belts in Arnon (now a Black Rebel hunting ground), and looted one of his wrecks. It always seems to take them ages to decide to shoot the red ship orbiting them or not.

The second kill was a bit more of a “risk” for me, I decided to take on a Harpy assault frigate in my Rifter, the pilot was around the same age as me so I thought why not. The outcome was Rifter 1 Harpy 0, the fight was over quite quick to be honest (I fly a Wolf and the tank keeps on going), if you fly a lot of frigates make sure you pack the right ammo (might blog about that at a later date). His shields went down quick (so did mine) thanks to my RF EMP rounds and I only had to run my armour repairer for a couple of cycles before he went bang.

Skillwise I’ve been training some more of the support skills, it’s surprising when you fly the same ship a lot the difference some skills can make to the performance of your ship. I’ve topped up some rigging skills over the last week and I’ve noticed the benefit. Over the next few weeks/months I am going to try and finish up my Elite Core competency skills and some tanking/ganking skills. Will be nice to see the impact that has on my Rifter.. 🙂

Fly crazy, try not to bump into the station walls too much and play Eve the way you want. If you can’t quit but can I have your stuff??

Durz

PS Thanks to whoever put a bounty back on my head.. 🙂

  1. June 23, 2011 at 18:52

    Nice, nice mate. Arnon is indeed turning into a nice Black Rebel infested hunting ground.

    I too have turned off the station environment, I kept freezing up and flickering to desktop which eventually lead to a blue screen of death. Not good. We’ll see how it runs over the next few weeks.

    Oh and keep up the writing mate (when you can), enjoy reading your blog.

    MB.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

